Switch Pitcher

In what could surely be labeled as baseball's ultimate weapon, the New York Times has run a story on a NCAA division I switch pitcher. Yes, that's right, the pitcher can throw either left or right handed depending on whom he's facing. Surprisingly, he is equally effective with either arm, although his right arm seems more aligned toward throwing fastballs, while his left specializes in a side-arm slider. Apparently, it is illegal for the pitcher to switch arms during the course of an at bat (yes, there is actually a rule on the books about this) -- the pitcher must declare prior to the at-bat which arm he will use to throw. It makes for a funny story when the umpires had to convene to determine just how to rule on this amazing phenomenon.

Switch Pitcher